Oshodi Street boys re-channel soccer fanaticism with Jersey Carnival

By Tope Templer Olaiya

Party time at Jersey Carnival

Party time at Jersey Carnival

Until lately, Lagosians were not known to spend festivals and public holidays indoors. Such days, which are far in between on the social calendar, are unique moments when families go out to experience fun on a full scale. The nation’s commercial capital had always been reputed for high-flying celebrations, which earned it the sobriquet, Eko for show.
On such days like Democracy Day, which was held recently, residents are usually spoilt for choice with places to visit and be thoroughly pleasured. But social re-engineering, security concerns, economic distress and horrid living conditions, which have all combined to make living in Lagos as stressful as living in a war zone, have made such choices limited.
In Lagos Island, popularly known as Isale Eko, a group, Ajia Ijesha Boys’ Club, staged the second edition of its Jersey Carnival to mark this year’s Democracy Day. With trading activities partially locked down in the busy business district due to the public holidays and the area devoid of the buzz of traders and shoppers, it was the perfect moment for residents and Isale Eko boys to unwind.
SAM_0488

This, they did, to the fullest. The scene of action for the Jersey Carnival was Oshodi Street, but it wasn’t until sundown before the youths took over the carved out park at the entrance of the street known as the Oshodi Recreational Centre.
Along the long stretch of the street, it was fun time for both the young and the old. Children gathered to play pranks and chase each other while the men sat in groups bare-chested to play card games, ayo and ludo. Some others gathered in front of a buka to anxiously wait for a bowl of fresh-hot pounded yam, which was being prepared by three women at once in a rhythmic dance movement.
By sundown, the big moment arrived and residents all came out to the roadside to absorb the scenic sights of youths trooping out in their preferred jerseys in different colours and throwing jives at friends adorning jerseys’ of opposing clubs and countries.
SAM_0492

According to organizers of the event, which was powered by several organizations including The Guardian, Jersey Carnival was a novel way of channeling soccer fanaticism among football followers into productive use by celebrating democracy day in a different way to foster patriotism and national unity among the youth.
Ajia Ijesha boys and youths of neighbouring streets laid siege on Oshodi Street into the early hours of the morning under a bright clear moonlight donning football jerseys, mufflers, flags, banners and wristbands of the Super Eagles, Brazil, and other countries and popular club sides.
Attraction included stage performances, dance competitions and comedians who were out to crack some people’s ribs with jaw-shattering jokes. After the awards’ contest, Oluwakemi Disu emerged best-kitted fan. Nigeria was the most represented country jersey and Manchester United emerged the most represented club jersey.
SAM_0497

28 thoughts on “Oshodi Street boys re-channel soccer fanaticism with Jersey Carnival

  1. fitness says:

    We are a bunch of volunteers and starting a new scheme in our community.
    Your web site provided us with useful info to work on.
    You have done a formidable task and our whole community will be thankful
    to you.

  2. It also breaks the previous tournament record for best first 36-hole score, eclipsing Tim Norris’s 127 at Wethersfield Country Club in 1982.

  3. Ahaa, its nice discussion about this paragraph at this place at this blog, I have read
    all that, so now me also commenting here.

  4. I am not sure the place you’re getting your info, but good topic. I must spend a while finding out much more or figuring out more. Thanks for great info I was looking for this information for my mission.

  5. I’ve been exploring for a little bit for any high-quality articles or blog posts on this sort of space . Exploring in Yahoo I eventually stumbled upon this web site. Reading this info So i am glad to convey that I have an incredibly good uncanny feeling I found out just what I needed. I such a lot surely will make certain to don?t fail to remember this website and give it a glance regularly.

  6. You ought to be a part of a contest for one
    of the highest quality websites on the net. I will
    recommend this site!

  7. Јust wаnt to say your artiсle is as astonishing.
    The clarity on your post is simply cool and i can think you’re an expert on this subject.

    Well аlong with your permission let me to snatch your RSS fеed
    to keep uр to date with drawing clߋse post.
    Thank yoս 1,000,000 and please carry on the enjoyable work.

  8. Does your blog have a contact page? I’m having problems locating it but, I’d like to send you an
    email. I’ve got some recommendations for your blog you might be interested
    in hearing. Either way, great site and I look forward to seeing it
    expand over time.

  9. Greetings from Ohio! I’m bored to death at work so I decided to browse your site
    on my iphone during lunch break. I enjoy the knowledge you provide here and can’t wait to
    take a look when I get home. I’m amazed at how fast your blog loaded on my cell phone ..
    I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyways, fantastic blog!

  10. Px24 says:

    Usuallʏ I do not read post on blogs, however I would like to say that this write-up very forced me to try and do so!
    Your writing taste has been surprised me. Thank you, very great article.

  11. I’m really impressed with your writing skills as well as with
    the layout on your blog. Is this a paid theme or did you modify it yourself?
    Either way keep up the excellent quality writing,
    it is rare to see a great blog like this one these days.

  12. Thanks for sharing your info. I truly appreciate your
    efforts and I am waiting for your next post thank you once again.

  13. This design is incredible! You most certainly know how to keep a reader entertained.
    Between your wit and your videos, I was almost moved to
    start my own blog (well, almost…HaHa!) Great job. I really enjoyed what you had
    to say, and more than that, how you presented it. Too cool!

  14. Thanks for the good writeup. It actually was a entertainment account it.
    Look complicated to more introduced agreeable from
    you! However, how could we be in contact?

  15. mobile games says:

    I like it when people get together and share views.
    Great blog, continue the good work!

  16. Inge says:

    I leave a response when I like a post on a website
    or if I have something to valuable to contribute to the discussion.
    It is caused by the sincerness displayed in the post I looked at.

    And on this article Oshodi Street boys re-channel soccer fanaticism with Jersey Carnival | topetempler.
    I was actually excited enough to drop a thought 😉 I
    actually do have 2 questions for you if it’s allright.

    Is it just me or do a few of these comments appear like coming from brain dead
    individuals? 😛 And, if you are writing at additional online sites, I’d like
    to follow anything fresh you have to post. Would you list the
    complete urls of all your public pages like your twitter feed,
    Facebook page or linkedin profile?

  17. I am regular visitor, how are you everybody?
    This article posted at this web site is really good.

  18. Spot on with this write-up, I really believe that this site needs a great deal
    more attention. I’ll probably be returning to read through more,
    thanks for the info!

  19. Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wanted to say that
    I’ve truly enjoyed surfing around your blog posts. After all I’ll be subscribing to your rss feed and I hope you write again very soon!

  20. Hi there to all, how is everything, I think every one is getting more from this web page, and your views
    are nice in support of new users.

  21. I think the admin of this web site is really working hard in support of his
    website, as here every stuff is quality based
    information.

  22. It’s a shame you don’t have a donate button! I’d most certainly donate to
    this brilliant blog! I suppose for now i’ll settle for
    book-marking and adding your RSS feed to my Google account.

    I look forward to brand new updates and will
    share this blog with my Facebook group. Talk soon!

  23. youtube.Com says:

    Thank you, I’ve just been looking for information approximately this subject for a long time
    and yours is the greatest I’ve discovered till now. But, what about
    the conclusion? Are you certain concerning the source?

  24. Marcos says:

    Hi to every one, as I am genuinely keen of reading this website’s post to be
    updated daily. It carries good material.

Leave a Reply

