From The Archive: TB Joshua Is Like Every Other Man On The Street…

DATELINE: September 29, 2009

Earlier this year in an interview with The Guardian Newspapers, the presitigious and renowned Nigerian newspaper, TB Joshua spoke on a range of intriguing issues…

Prophet Temitope Balogun Joshua, founder of The Synagogue Church of All Nations (SCOAN) was recently mentioned among the world’s leading faith healers by America’s TIME Magazine. He was also awarded the National Honour of Officer of the Order of the Federal Republic (OFR) by the government in recognition of his humanitarian activities. He spoke to TOPE TEMPLER OLAIYA at his church’s headquarters in Ikotun, Lagos on what the award means to him and why his church attracts high-profile visitors.

“If not for the grace of God, I would be like any other man on the street…” TB Joshua

 

Image

 

@font-face { font-family: “Times”; }@font-face { font-family: “Cambria”; }p.MsoNormal, li.MsoNormal, div.MsoNormal { margin: 0in 0in 10pt; font-size: 12pt; font-family: “Times New Roman”; }div.Section1 { page: Section1; }

First, how do you feel with the National Honour bestowed on you by Mr. President?
Honour where? You mean the one that was given to me in January. Well, that is not new to me and is not something special to me. As you can see for yourself, a lot of people, organisations, government, home and abroad and even foreign missions have been honouring the grace of God upon my life. Just last week, the National Association of Nigerian Students (NANS) presented me with an award. But then, the honour is not meant for me, it belongs to God. I am just a vessel God is using.

 

First, it was your meeting with the Governor General of the State of Bahamas in the early 90s, followed by the visit of President Frederick Chiluba of Zambia, a few years later. Since then, other world leaders have come to visit you, most recently, was the new President of Ghana, Prof. John Atta Mills and you are preparing to receive a South African leader in the next few days, what do you think is the source of attraction?
It is a simple answer; it is because their needs are met. People will always be attracted to wherever their needs will be met; and the needs of men vary. What I want and like might be different from what you want; so, you will always go to where your needs are met. It is not in my power, it is God, who is answering the needs of his people. Even in the Bible, people travel far and wide to where their needs will be met. Also, the work of God is like honey. Wherever honey is, insects seek and find it. When God is doing a new thing in a place, people are attracted there. So, these presidents and other foreign nationals come to the church, because of what God is doing here.

 

Despite this, most Nigerians have still not acknowledged what God is using you to do. Why is it so?
You see, every man of God has his gift. This is my own area. In the academic world, we have professors of English, Chemistry, and Mathematics. If some people do not need my gift, this does not mean that it is not needed somewhere. If what you have is not needed now, that does not mean that it will not be needed tomorrow. So, it would be too soon to begin to say this and it would be too soon to praise or come to the conclusion you have drawn now. God’s time is the best. Sometimes, what you need at the end might be the most important thing to you. Let me give you a good example: a friend you discover later in life may be the most important friend you would cherish more than the friend you have had from the beginning of your life.

 

Apart from the headquarters’ church in Lagos, which has become a tourist attraction, do you have other branches of the church?
Branches everywhere is not the issue, what is the issue now is making disciples of Christ out of men, making another T.B. Joshua. If this could be possible in the life of Elisha and Elisha came out of Elijah even more powerful than his master, why not also in our time, so that after I am gone, there will be men who God would raise up to achieve His purpose in the world. That is the biggest reward God can give to his servant. Like they always say, there is no success without a good successor. The greatest honour will be to make disciples who will do better than what we are presently doing.

 

Do you see your children taking after your ministry in the Synagogue?
The ministry is not a will; it is not a property you can will to your children. It is a spiritual inheritance and the Bible talks about the inheritance of saints. You must meet God’s condition and no human hand can be employed to do the work of God, neither can the mouth do the work of God. It is not a matter of ‘I can speak good grammar’, it is only God that will choose who He wants. It is predestined, as it should be by divine will. I cannot force my children to follow in my footsteps, they have to decide on their own, and I can only point them to the way we also have followed. I cannot give them the power because I am not the owner of the power. I can only do my best to train them in the way of the Lord and if they are ready to follow and make a difference, it is their choice, not mine.

 

Who is T.B. Joshua?
Joshua is a man like you. I am like anybody else on the street; the only difference in my life is the grace of God. That is the difference and that is what separates me from the man on the street. But with that, because I am a man who has known what it is to lack, I do not close my eyes to the needy. Because I am somebody who has experienced what it is to be poor and without money, I give of what I have to help the poor, because I am a man who knows what it is to be hungry, I give food to feed the poor and those who are hungry, as a way of appreciating the grace of God upon my life because if not for the grace of God, I would be like any other man on the street.

16 thoughts on “From The Archive: TB Joshua Is Like Every Other Man On The Street…

  1. simon nyirenda says:

    am disciple following tb joshua from zambia,i discoverted a mentor

    • topetempler says:

      Same for thousands others. SCOAN grew up in my neighbourhood during my childhood years in the Prophet’s residence down the swamp on Agisegiri Street, Agodo. I ended up doing my university thesis on him and the church in 2005 titled The Authenticity of Miracles at the University of Ibadan.

  2. MADALITSO BANDA says:

    i love the scoan i know indeed they are the followers of JESUS CHRIST i would like to visit but i dont have money for transport i leave in zimbabwe N134 torwood redcliff kwekwe

  3. yes like every other man on the street.i heard of scoan 2008 then i got attracted to the happenings on the channel,what i simply did was sitting back with the word i had read in my heart and listened carefullyb to his teachings and found out that he is speaking for God,then i had no problems believing the miracles i saw,though the miracles where what i had not seen since i became born again.
    man of God taught last sunday that the only way according to scripture is to believe and then see.if you are like doubting thomas who want to see before believing you will always have problem with genuine servants of God like tb joshua.
    thank you

  4. I love everything what concerns SCOAN,Emmanuel Tv.I thank God for the life of Prophet T.B. Joshua.

  5. Andrew moepi says:

    Please man of God deliver me

  6. Ezra.7vs10 the bible says for ezra had prepared his heart to seek the law of the lord,and to do it,and teach it in isreal.i believe even us can make a difference in our world with a determined and prepared heart.father in the lord tb joshua has this quality and will continue being like any other man on the street yet different.
    lets pray a new grace to enter our soul,for a new determination.

  7. sydney tambula says:

    continue to pray for the world man of god. emen

  8. BitireMEKONNEN says:

    Man of GOD Help me i need to visit the scoan rescu me my marriage the scoan is my last bus stop.
    BITIRE MEKONNEN From Ethiopia

  9. Joseph Kibonge says:

    I and my family we love the SCOAN so much and the man of God,he is a really man of God and the prophet of this generation.Thank you Jesus for this humble man.

  10. Immanuel P. R. says:

    Prophet TBJoshua is no doubt true Man of God. I find his biblical teachings his greatest miracle. I have witnessed lecture deliveries by the greatest university professors of old, but none of them approached the brilliance of synthesis & wisdom of TBJ’s sermons. The SCOAN congregant no doubt frequently needs to be of above average intelligence in order to fully grasp the gist of prophet TBJ’s sermon. Many times faith(of the mind) alone might not be enough for one to fully comprehend his message. But there is no excuse at all for intellectuals to fail to benefit from TBJ’s God sent evangelical mission. Unique if unprecidented and greatest modern era prophet of God, properly describes TBJ. Otherwise it is difficult to identify missing essential component of TBJ’s ministry or prophet X capable of improving TBJ’s ministry, even with regards delivery of the word alone. It is however on demonstrations of prophetic power of deliverance where we find that the Almighty has chosen TBJ as his most prefered instrument of delivery ahead of the rest. My superficialy superfluous comment on TBJ, would be misplaced in the absence of barrages of crudely unfair criticsms of the man of God by individuals daringly displaying their abysmal ignorance of the power of God, through their nakedly pseudo-intellectual presumptions of criticisms. Most disturbing is the arrogance of ultimate criticism by persons pretending to have all along been intelligently following the bulk of the Almighty’s works thru prophet TBJ! May the almighty pliz forgive them!

  11. […] „Ich bin nur ein Gefäß, dass Gott benutzt” (englisch), veröffentlicht am 19. April 2012 […]

  12. […] „Ich bin nur ein Gefäß, dass Gott benutzt” (englisch), veröffentlicht am 19. April 2012 […]

  13. kully says:

    man of God please deliver me my family are not doing well. I am 49 not married all of us not married my daughter is not doing well. I need your deliverance.

  14. cecilia chisha says:

    pliz man of God pray for me and my life including my family may God bles u.

  15. Maria T. A says:

    man of God deliver me

Leave a Reply

